Heritage Advisory Committee

Our built heritage is one of our most tangible reminders of our past. Municipal Council understands its importance these buildings have on the fabric of the community. This is one of the reasons why we have a special committee specifically dedicated to the preservation of our registered built heritage.

The Heritage Advisory Committee makes recommendations to council in regards to heritage designations and substantial alterations to registered properties. The committee consists of six members, two councillors and four citizen representatives. The chairperson of the committee is Councillor Maritza Adam. The citizen representatives are: Vice Committee Chair Andrena Teed, Louise Mullen, Allan Puxley, David Irvine and Dianne Theriault. Each citizen representative is asked to sit on the committee for a two-year term. The committee meets as needed on council's request.

In 1998 the Municipality conducted an inventory of potential heritage properties in the District. The inventory identified approximately 500 properties. This historical document is important to all citizens in the Municipality. It is a record of the life history of communities, from their early development to the present. The Inventory is the first heritage property inventory to be collected in a digital format in the Province.

These properties can be viewed at local libraries, schools and on the Heritage Property CD that is now available thought your local museums. Council encourages residence to explore their heritage and celebrate this special place we call home.

You are here: Home Living Here Departments Heritage Property Program Heritage Advisory Committee